WONDER by R. J. Palacio

This one is by R.J. Palacio, and it’s one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read.

It’s not horrendously complicated. It’s not a billion words long. It’s simple, and short, and incredibly (sorry if this sounds sappy) moving. It’s about a boy called August, and he’s ten years old. The quote on the blurb is “My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.”He was born with rare genetic disorders, and his face is like a horror mask (not my description!), and it’s all about how people adapt, how people react, and how August takes it.

The characters were beautifully three-dimensional- even August’s older sister, Via, isn’t a cardboard-cut-out sister who is fine with her brother. She’s an amazing sister. But she has those moments, where she’s ashamed, and it just adds to the layers. The book is split into different POV’s, and that just adds to it; you see how the “normal” people adjust to August’s appearance, because really he’s just a normal ten-year-old boy. So there’s a section for Via, and a section for August’s friend (and I found this one really interesting, because it showed how kids react).

It’s a very easy read, so giving it an age would be hard; a ten-year-old could probably read it. But hey- teens can read it too, and I know some people who are reading years later and still loving it. It’s…perfect, seriously, and this is a must-read.

 

Wonder WIKI page

Author R. J. Palacio official web site

Wonder book trailer

Get your own copy from AMAZON

My Facebook page

My Twitter page

Leave a comment